About the Committee

The Water Utility Council/Government Affairs Committee may consist of up to seven members, six of whom shall be either representatives of Section Utility Members or individual members of the Section who are also employees of an Iowa utility. The seventh member shall be a Section officer, each Regional Organization may be invited to participate.

Duties of the Water Utility Council include:

  • The Iowa Water Utility Council, shall develop programs to initiate, evaluate, respond, and comment, within the framework of Section and policies, on legislative, regulatory, and other matters which directly affect water utilities;
  • Encourage provision of better water service to the consuming public. The Council shall also bring to the attention of the Board, and the membership as directed by the Board information on these governmental or regulatory issues;
  • If, in the opinion of the Council, legislative or regulatory matters arise which require expenditures beyond funds available to the Council, the Council, with the concurrence of the Section Board of Trustees, shall be authorized to solicit funds from Section Utility Members to specifically respond to the matters in question;
  • The Chair shall present a written report on Council activities to the Section Board of Trustees. This report shall also be presented to the Section membership at the Section Annual Conference.

The Board of Trustees liaison for the committee shall be the Chair-Elect.

Contact Us


Marty Braster

Rathbun Regional Water Association
Centerville, IA
P: 641-647-2416
E: [email protected]

Shelli Lovell
City of Marshalltown
Marshalltown, IA
P: 641-753-7913
E: [email protected]